
HOW CAN I GET A LIBRARY CARD?

CAN MY CHILDREN GET A CARD?

ITEM TOTALS  ALLOWED BY CARD:

    • Adult  and Minor Resident cards - 20 items per   
        card with a limit of 10 movies per card
   • Non-Resident card - 20 items per card with  
      a limit of 10 movies per card 

WHERE DO I CHECK IN MY ITEMS?
  Library materials may be returned to any branch in 
the system. Please note - heat can destroy DVDs, 
CDs, and Playaways®. Please use an interior book 
drop for these items whenever possible. 

HOW LONG CAN I KEEP CHECKED 
OUT ITEMS?
  Items are checked out for the following:   
    Books/Magazines  14  days
    Audiobook/Music CDs 14  days
    Playaways®   14  days
    DVD/BluRay    7  days
    Mobile Hotspots    7 days
    Telescopes     7 days
    Go Pros     7 days
  Items may be renewed for additional time as long 
as the item does not have a “Hold” request pending. 
You may renew your items twice, either online or by 
calling. Adults may check out up to 20 items, 10 of 
which can be movies. Children can check out 10 
items in any combination.

  Library cards are free to Washington County 
residents. You must present two items for verification:
 
 1) Valid photo identification - issued by 
government, school or employer. A drivers license 
or ID card with a current Washington County 
address fulfills both requirements. Driver privilege 
cards are not accepted.
  
   2) Proof of permanent address as a Washington 
County resident (must be a physical address, we 
cannot accept P.O. Box numbers)

  Some examples of proof of address are as follows:
   • Utility bill
   • Property tax statement
   • Rent or mortgage agreement
   • Mail postmarked within the last 30 days
  
  Non-Residents may obtain a card for a fee of 
$20 for 6 months, or $33 for one year. Photo 
ID and address verification is required. A 
family or household member of a non-resident 
cardholder may be added for the same duration 
for a fee of $5.00.

  Children 17 years and younger may receive library 
cards. A parent or legal guardian must be present 
when obtaining the card. Parents/guardians may 
choose the following options for their child:

   1. Minor:  this allows your child to have access to all 
materials in the library. With this you have the option 
to add Internet privileges where the child may access a 
filtered Internet system. 

    2. Minor Restricted: this allows your  child to have access 
to all materials in the library with the exception of Mature 
Content  DVDs and videos. With this you have the 
option to add Internet privileges where the child may 
access a filtered Internet system.

CAN I REQUEST ITEMS?
  Materials located at another branch or checked out 
to another patron  may be placed on hold. Patrons 
will be notified via e-mail or text when the item is 
available, and the item will be held for 7 days. 

CAN I DOWNLOAD DIGITAL BOOKS?
  The Washington County Library System offers 
patrons access to digital media collections 
through the Libby app. Download information 
is available on the Library website: 
www.library.washco.utah.gov.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I FORGET TO TURN 
MY  ITEMS IN ON TIME?
  As a courtesy to patrons, overdue notices are sent via 
e-mail. Fines for most items are 10 cents a day for each 
item. If an item remains overdue for 45 days, the status of 
the item is changed to “lost”. The patron is responsible 
for replacement costs and processing fees. A 
non-refundable fee of $5.00 is levied to cover shipping 
and processing costs, except for magazines. Accounts with 
fines or fees greater than $50 past due for 60 days are sent 
to collections. If you have any questions regarding 
overdue notices, please contact your library.  

HOW MANY ITEMS CAN I CHECK OUT?
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CARD RESPONSIBILITIES:
  Cardholders agree to the following responsibilities 
upon obtaining a card:
   • Library cards are non-transferable and may        
       only be used by the person named on the card    
        holder’s registration.
   • Periodic renewal/updating their card.
   • All material checked out on patron’s card.
   • All losses and/or damages to library materials     
       checked out on patron’s card.
   • Prompt payment of any charges incurred.
   • Prompt notification of any change in address,     
       phone number or e-mail address.
   • Immediate notification of lost or stolen  
      library card.
   • Parents or guardians accept responsibility for  
      all materials checked out by family members 17  
      years of age or younger. 

DONATION POLICY:
  The Library System accepts donations of materi-
als to add to our collection, for our perpetual 
book sale, or to give to other non-profit organiza-
tions. Your tax deductible donation can be 
dropped off at any of the Library System 
branches. Please ask for a donation receipt when 
you drop your items off.   

What we accept:
  Books, Audio CDs, Music CDs, DVDs, Blu-ray 
discs, and current magazines in good condition.
What we do not accept:
  Books that are damp, moldy, are in poor condi-
tion, or that have been in storage for an extended 
period of time.
  Text books or encyclopedias. Legal, health, and 
travel books that are more than two years old, 
VHS or cassette tapes. 

LOST CARDS:
  If your library card is lost or stolen, contact the 
library immediately. Until notice is received, 
patrons will continue to be responsible for any 
materials checked out on lost or missing cards.        
  A fee of $2.00 is required to replace a lost or 
missing card.
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OTHER SERVICES:

MAKERSPACES:

  Washington County Library System offers 
faxing, scanning, Internet access and printing at 
most branches.
  Archival microfilm records of Washington 
County newspapers are also available for patron 
use at the St. George branch.
  The website offers links for area information, 
including current events, job openings, demo-
graphics and other sites offering information to 
library patrons.

  An Adult Literacy Program is available through 
the Library system. For more information, please 
call 435-634-5737.
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  A Makerspace is a place that provides the tools 
to create, and the Washington County Library 
System is expanding the opportunities for the 
community to use tools that are often unavailable 
to individuals. 
 Try 3D printing, scrap-booking, button making, 
laser cutting, movie making, recording, virtual 
reality learning, or build a circuit with the tools in 
the Makerspace! Check with your library branch 
to find out more information on Makerspaces.
  Access to the library Makerspaces is granted 
to the public, children must be accompanied 
by an adult. 

• ENTERPRISE BRANCH          435-878-2574
   393 S. 200 E.
     Branch Hours:
     Monday        10:00 AM - 6:00  PM
     Tuesday- Thursday          10:00 AM - 7:00  PM
     Friday       10:00 AM - 6:00  PM
     Saturday       10:00 AM - 3:00  PM

• HURRICANE BRANCH          435-635-4621
   36 S. 300 W.
 Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 7:00  PM 
     Friday - Saturday      10:00 AM - 6:00  PM
• SANTA CLARA BRANCH       435-986-0432
  1099 N. Lava Flow Dr.
 Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 7:00  PM 
     Friday - Saturday      10:00 AM - 6:00  PM
• WASHINGTON BRANCH       435-627-2706
   220 N. 300 E.
     Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 7:00  PM 
     Friday - Saturday      10:00 AM - 6:00  PM

• ST. GEORGE BRANCH            435-634-5737
   88. W. 100 S.
     Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 8:00  PM
     Friday - Saturday      10:00 AM - 6:00  PM

• HILDALE BRANCH                  435-874-1341
   440 E. Newel Ave. 
• NEW HARMONY BRANCH   435-867-0065
   34 S. 2900 E.
     Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 7:00  PM
     Friday & Saturday      10:00 AM - 4:00  PM

• SPRINGDALE BRANCH          435-772-3676
   126 Lion Blvd.
     Branch Hours:
     Monday - Thursday      10:00 AM - 7:00  PM 
     Friday       10:00 AM - 5:00  PM 
     Saturday       12:00 PM - 5:00  PM


