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LIBRARY CARD REGISTRATION POLICY

All residents, as defined in the policy on “Residency,” are entitled to register for and receive a Washington
County Library card, subject to the provisions of this policy.

M.

Residents may be issued a library card free of charge. Residents will be charged fees for replacing
lost and damaged cards, excluding cards that must be replaced because of normal wear and tear.
Library cards are non-transferable and may only be used by the person named on the card holder’s
registration. However, if a card holder designates an individual to pick up reserved materials by
loaning them their library card, the library staff will acknowledge that possession of the card
implies permission to check out reserved materials for the registered card holder. A cardholder
may give permission for one adult placed on their card as an authorized user for their account.
This must be done in person to initiate authorization. Library patrons or assigned proxies may
check out without a card under the following circumstances: a valid photo ID is presented.

In order to register for a library card, individuals are required to provide both proof of
identification and residency. Photo identification must be a picture ID issued by government,
school, or employer. Under Utah law, a Driver’s Privilege Card is not acceptable as proof of
identification. Proof of residency must be current, and will include the name and address of the
individual. A post office box number may be used for mailing purposes, but is not sufficient as
proof of residency. Examples of proof of residency are as follows: Utility bill (except cell phone),
property tax statement, rent receipt/contract, and mail postmarked within the last thirty (30)
days; however, junk mail is not sufficient as proof of residency. Verbal confirmation of address,
made by family members, friends, employers or others, in person or by telephone, does not
constitute proof of residency for the purpose of this policy. When a card is replaced after being
lost or destroyed, the staff will take appropriate measures to verify that the individual replacing
the card is the individual to whom the account is registered, and may require identification or re-
verification of residency at that time.

Individuals 18 years of age and older may register for library cards for themselves, for their
children through age 17, and for others where legal guardianship or custody has been granted.
By completing the registration process for a minor child, the parent or guardian accepts financial
responsibility for the materials checked out by his or her minor child and acknowledges that it is
his or her responsibility to guide the selection of materials checked out by that minor child. An
individual under 18 years of age may register for a library card only: a) if he or she is an
emancipated minor as defined in Utah State Code, Annotated, 15-2-1, which states, “The period
of minority extends in males and females to the age of eighteen years; but all minors obtain their
majority by marriage;” or b) if the individual has been declared emancipated by a court of
competent jurisdiction in accordance with Utah State Code, Annotated, 78-3a-1001 through 78-
3a-1005. The library also recognizes minors emancipated in accordance with laws of other states
upon presentation of adequate documentation.
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IV.  Anindividual will be denied the ability to check out items if they have accrued $5.00 or more in
fines on their library card. An individual will be denied registration for a library card if his or her
immediate family - including spouse, children who accrued fines while under the age of 18 and
children who remain under the parent’s guardianship past the age of 18 - have fines and charges
with the library totaling $50 or more. However, an individual will not be held accountable for
fines accrued by an ex-spouse following a divorce or legally recognized separation and for fines
accrued by children not within his or her legal custody.

V.  Non-residents may obtain a Washington County Library Card for $33.00 for one year, or $20.00
for six months. A family or household member of a non-resident cardholder may be added for the
same duration for a fee of $5.00. The materials checkout is 20 items per card, with a limit of 10
DVDs per card. Picture identification with proof of current address is required.

VL. Non-resident students who attend school in the Washington County School District may obtain a
non-resident Washington County Library card. The card will be valid for one year, not to extend
beyond their date of high school graduation. The student card can be minor or minor restricted,
and the parent or guardian accepts responsibility for the materials checked out by the minor in
accordance with paragraph Ill.

VII.  The card holder is responsible for all damages, losses, fines and fees charged on the library card.
Lost or stolen library cards are to be reported immediately to the library as the card holder
continues to be responsible for all materials, fines, and fees charged to their card, regardless of
who uses it, until it is reported lost or stolen. Patrons should also inform the library of changes to
their address or phone numbers.

VIII. Patrons who are responsible for debt evidence by unreturned library materials which debt is
included in a legal declaration of bankruptcy may have limitations imposed on their borrowing
privileges by the Director. The limitations will have the sole purpose of decreasing the exposure
of the library to further losses of materials, and will be lifted when the Director is satisfied that
such exposure is minimal.

Library Board Chairperson

Sheqd

/s/ Joel E. Tucker
Library Director

Adopted by the Washington County Library Board: September 29, 2009
Revised and Approved by the Washington County Library Board: April 26, 2016
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